The Three Classes of Electric Bikes

The Three Classes of Electric Bikes

Electric bikes are becoming increasingly popular due to their many benefits, including being able to ride regardless of terrain or distance.  There are three classes of electric bikes, each with its own level of power assistance, which is important to know before purchasing or riding one. 


3 Classes of Electric Bikes

Class is important for knowing what type of assistance you can expect from your ebike: 

Class 1: The ebike's motor only provides assistance when the rider is pedaling and shuts off once the bike reaches 20 mph.

Class 2: Equipped with a motor that gives help whether or not the rider is pedaling but stops assisting when the bike reaches 20 mph.

Class 3: The motor activates only when the rider is pedaling, like Class 1, and ceases to assist when the bike reaches 28 mph.


Where Can I Ride My ebike?  

Every state has its own restrictions on electric bike usage.  Some states have specific regulations for each ebike class, while others designate all three classes as bicycles. 

In Colorado for example, Class 1 and 2 ebikes are permitted on the same bike and pedestrian paths as conventional bicycles.  However, Class 3 ebikes are only allowed on specified roads and bike lanes.


In Florida, you can ride all three classes of ebikes on highways, roadways, shoulders, bicycle lanes, and bike or multiuse paths where bicycles are permitted.  



Check With Your State Laws 

We encourage you to read the current laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bikes in your state.  Electric Bike Laws - State by State may be a helpful resource in your research.  Policies and Laws is another resource that may be of assistance. 



Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.